Getting Out the Door

Some mornings, especially on the weekend, it’s just hard to get up in the morning.  After a hectic week, I am physically tired.  Today is a particularly yucky cloudy and snowy day.  It is enough to make me want to stay in bed and cuddle with my  down duvet, and sleep a few more hours.   Well this morning is one of those days when I yearned for a lazy Sunday – do nothing!

Nope, I have Sunday Service at 10:30 am, and it is my one day during the week to spend with my family and our Church congregation in worship and praise of God.   Sometimes I must ask myself if this is Satan’s way of working on me to create a snowball of incidences that lead to a having a bad morning – of disobedience.  Agitated and cranky to boot, I almost want to miss this weekly ritual. It is when I feel like this, that I know I need get myself out the door, and to worship.

All the signs pointed to staying home, so I made a greater effort to get out the door.  First, not wanting to get out of bed, and then running around like a chicken without a head as I busy myself preparing a roast in the slow cooker for our evening meal, make breakfast for the kids, and general crankiness all the way to Church.   I was in a piss off mood even up to the front door of the Church.  I was bitchy and snarly.

It took me a while during sing-inspiration to finally put my angry heart aside, and silently pray to God.  With the sound of music in the background, I ask for God to open my heart to worship and praise – to transform me.  To trust Him without boundaries.   I ask him to make my faith stronger, as I wrestled with the sinful nature within.  In the presences of my Savior, I ask for forgiveness.  I ask him to take me deeper into my faith, and to renew me.

 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!  

2 Corinthians 5:17 | NIV

Oh Forgive me dear Lord God

for letting the frivolous things

and stuff get in the way of my relationship with you.

I let my cranky, agitated nature get in the way of our relationship. 

You ask for nothing from me

except to truly worship you and believe you

Your grace you give me freely

Transformed this cranky soul

I lift my voice in adoration of You and

pray for deliverance of my cranky nature

Here I stand before you

Changed and set free 

With adoration, I lift my arms and proclaim Hosanna

Your grace has transformed me as I open my heart to thee

and embrace your presence with humbleness, love and obedience.

Draw me deeper into your presence, deeper into my faith,

as I worship you with truth and depth.

 

Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

